StableBit DrivePool Q5510455

From Covecube - Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Reset the NTFS permissions on the pool manually.

When to Use

When reinstalling the system.

Steps

  1. Right click on the drive.
  2. Open the "Security" tab.
  3. Click on the "Advanced" button at the bottom.
  4. Click on the "Change" link next to "Owner", and set the owner to "Administrators".
    NOTE: This is "Administrators" and not "Administrator". The "Administrator" account is a built in account, that is disabled by default. Setting it to this account may appear to work, but won't show up properly if you double check it.
  5. Check the "Replace owner on subcontainers and objects" option.
  6. In the Permissions tab below, delete all of the options here.
    To do this, select one of the entries, and click the "Remove" button. Repeat this for ALL of the entries, until you've removed them all.
  7. Click on the "Add" button.
  8. Set the "Principal" to "SYSTEM", and check "Full Control", and hit "OK"
  9. Click on the "Add" button.
  10. Repeat the above for "Administrators", as well.
  11. Click on the "Add" button, again.
  12. Set the "Principal" to "Users" and give it the "Read & Execute", "List folder contents" and "Read" permissions. and hit "OK".
    • Note: If you want unrestricted access with no UAC prompts or permission issues, use "Full Control" for "Users" instead.
  13. Check the "Replace all child object permission entries with inheritable permission entries from this object" option underneath.
  14. Click "OK", and agree to all of the prompts that it shows.

Notes

  • This may take a while to complete if you have a large pool, a lot of small files, or both. This can take upwards of an hour, as it has to apply both sets of settings to each and every file on the disk.
  • This may yield UAC prompts and permissions issues, as you may only have read only privileges. This is intentional, as this is identical to a newly formatted disk. *:You can change the permissions, as needed. Either by adding specific user accounts, or by setting groups (like the "Users" group).
  • This may corrupt the Recycle Bin on each disk, as these require special permissions. This is normal, and expected, and doesn't actually cause any real harm.